Institute for the Study of Islamic Thought in Africa (ISITA)

Visiting Scholars & Fellows
Bulletin Board
Join our email list

Institute for the Study of Islamic Thought in Africa
Northwestern University
620 Library Place, Evanston IL 60208

Northwestern Logo

Northwestern Home | Search Northwestern
Disclaimer | University Policies


Visiting Scholars and Fellows


Since 2001, ISITA has hosted 45 visiting scholars and fellows from 19 countries.  Through the generous sponsorship of the Ford Foundation between 2001-2005, ISITA organized Senior and Junior fellowship programs that brought primarily African scholars to Northwestern to pursue research, writing, and intellectual exchange.  ISITA currently does not have any funds available for visiting fellowships.  If such opportunities become available in the future they will be posted on the website and announced on the email list. 

Scholars with research interests in Islam and Africa who would like to spend a period of time at Northwestern on their own funding may apply for Visiting Scholar status with ISITA.  To apply, please send an email request to ISITA interim director, Rebecca Shereikis at that includes your curriculum vitae, a brief statement of your project or research interests, the proposed dates of your visit, and an explanation of why you would benefit from a stay at ISITA/Northwestern.

ISITA Visiting Scholars/Fellows since 2001:

- Elemine Moustapha, University of Nouakchott (Mauritania)
- Mallam Mohammed Bashir Abubakar, Adamawa State University (Nigeria)
- Muhammad Abdulaziz, University of Nairobi (Kenya)
- Oluwakemi Adesina, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
- Abdelwahab el-Affendi, Centre for the Study of Democracy (United Kingdom)
- Abdallah Chanfi Ahmed, Zentrum Moderner Orient (Germany)
- Margot Badran, Independent Scholar (Egypt and US)
- Heike Behrend, University of Cologne (Germany)
- Hamidu Bobboyi, Islamic Trust (Nigeria)
- Said Bousbina, Independent Scholar (France)
- Said Bouterfa, Project Manumed (Algeria)
- Andrea Brigaglia, University of Capetown (South Africa)
- Mukhtar Umar Bunza, Usmanu Danfodiyo University (Nigeria)
- Mariella Villasante Cervello, Institut de Recherches et d’Etudes sur le Monde Arabe et Musulman (France)
- Abdel Wedoud Ould Cheikh, University of Metz (France)
- Rachida Chih, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France)
- Francesca Declich, University of Urbino (Italy)
- Nikolai Dobronravine, Russian Academy of Sciences (Russia)
- Gilbert Lamblin Taguem Fah, University of Ngaoundéré (Cameroon)
- Paulo Fernandes de Moraes Farias, University of Birmingham (United Kingdom)
- Muhammad Al-Munir Gibrill, Indiana University (US)
- Ibrahim Haruna Hassan, University of Jos (Nigeria)
- Abdullahi Ali Ibrahim, University of Missouri (US)
- Abdulai Iddrisu, St. Olaf College (US)
- Ayesha Imam, BAOBOB for Women’s Human Rights (Nigeria)
- Shamil Jeppie, University of Capetown (South Africa)
- Ousmane Kane, Columbia University (US)
- Li Weijian, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Beijing (China)
- Cheikhouna Lô, Independent Scholar, Touba (Senegal)
- Penda Mbow, Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar (Senegal)
- Shaaban Ali Kachenje Mlacha, University of Dar-es-Salaam (Tanzania)
- Hassan Mwakimako, Maryknoll Institute of African Studies (Kenya)
- Abdoulaye Niang, Université Gaston-Berger de Saint Louis (Senegal)
- Mwanakombo Mohamed Noordin, Moi University (Kenya)
- Marta Garcia Novo, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas (Spain)
- Hassan Ndzovu, Moi University (Kenya)
- Isaac Ogunbiyi, Lagos State University (Nigeria)
- Fakhruddin Owaisi, University of Capetown (South Africa)
- Ulrich Rebstock, University of Frieburg (Germany)
- Kim Searcy, Loyola University Chicago (US)
- Heather Sharkey, University of Pennsylvania (US)
- Inyani K. Simala, Masinde Muliro University (Kenya)
- Knut Vikor, University of Bergen (Norway)
- Francesco Zappa, University of Rome, La Sapienza (Italy)

Note: In some cases, the institutional affiliation listed was at the time of the fellowship, and may no longer be accurate.